Gonna be, gonna be….

I really have no idea why I have a song by Incubus stuck in my head- but for some reason “Hot Dancer” just started running through it, sat itself down and decided to hang out for a while.

Music, as I’ve written before, is a very interesting thing to me.  When I started writing my manuscript in earnest I ALWAYS had music playing.  I would gravitate toward Shinedown, Daughtry and a wee bit of Josh Groban or John Denver but would never listen to classical music.  My reason was simple: it distracts me.  I don’t mean in that “fly buzzing around my head and all I can think about is killing it” kind of distracting but in that “I need to listen to the soaring of the violins, the thundering of the piano” kind of distracting.  Basically I would close my eyes and let the music carry me away; my mind easily recalling why it is I love Rachmaninoff, Brahms and Beethoven as I do.

Ahhh, Rachmaninoff’s third piano concerto by Martha Argerich…

Where was I?  Oh, right.  Music and writing- gotcha.  So, I used to listen to music all the time when I wrote figuring it would help me with the mood of the scene, the character’s mind sets and all that jazz.  Well, on the second time through the manuscript I didn’t.  I don’t know if this was simply because I didn’t want to disrupt my toddler’s nap or if I was just more interested in getting to the keyboard and writing than fiddling with the universal remote for my CD/DVD player.  (Really, the thing is incredibly fussy.  Beware of open box deals!)  Regardless of the reason I found the quiet to be soothing and very helpful for focusing on the characters and keeping them consistent.  Who knew?

To those creative types out there: Do you listen to music when you create?  What about doing everyday things like cooking/cleaning?  What type of music do you listen to in the background?  Do you ever just sit and listen to music?

One response to “Gonna be, gonna be….

  • Kathye

    Hey Kimberly,
    Interesting blog. I have recently hear a lot talk about what music writers listen to while composing (play on words there haha). I had never thought about it before the questions started. Now, I want a sound track too!!! I have figured out 2 things:
    1 – I can’t write to music with lyrics – too distracting. I find myself singing alone.
    2 – I have never hear of 99% of the music/musicians that the other writers swear by.
    I’m definitely out of the loop.
    K

Leave a Reply

