Haunting music, a dark place and many thanks

First I would like to thank all you music aficionados (read: people that listen to crazy and/or dark music) for the copious suggestions I received.  I did various searches, including raiding my husband’s mp3s, based upon those recommendations and found music that will aid me in getting into the dark, obsessed mind of my protagonist.  As there have been so many wonderful responses, both privately and publicly, I would like to share with you some of my findings.  If you have anything to suggest in addition to these I welcome them.

Several people suggested Nine Inch Nails and indeed they were correct.  While there are several songs I will be using through out the beginning portion of the manuscript this, by far, has disturbed me the most and as a result is incredibly useful to the necessary mindset: 

Schoenberg is easily one of my favorite twentieth century composers and Verklarte Nacht also one of my favorite pieces.  Admittedly it has been so long since I’ve acquainted myself with this piece I completely had forgotten about it until it was suggested: 

Radiohead, a group I admire a great deal but never listen to because I wind up feeling quite depressed, was another suggestion that thankfully I took seriously (and honestly, based upon that sentence, I have no idea WHY I hadn’t thought of them).  Through all the angst-ridden music of the present day I think much of it lacks genuine emotional content both musically and lyrically- I can honestly say that Radiohead is so powerful simply because it isn’t afraid to “go there” in the most gut wrenching of ways.  Without further adieu I offer you this song by Radiohead: 

Now that you’re nice and depressed I would like to share something uplifting,fun and really not at all highbrow.  Enjoy!

2 responses to “Haunting music, a dark place and many thanks

  • Jaime

    Girl, girl, girl, girl, girl! I am so sorry I missed this request! I def. would have chosen Nine Inch Nails – “Something I Can Never Have” is great, and I also love “Hurt”.

    Radiohead I would highly suggest “Talk Show Host”. It is very moody.

    I also like a song by Blue Foundation called “Eyes on Fire”. See if you like that one.

    If I can think of any others, I will let you know!

    • kimberlyloomis

      Thanks for the recommendations! I’ll definitely check them out! I can always use good music recommendations- whether on the verge of insane or not. 😉

Leave a Reply

