Thanksgiving

Tomorrow is the day in which many of us will sit at our tables, shoving our faces full of food, enjoying (or not enjoying) the company of friends and family, cursing at people driving TOO SLOW on the highway, and possibly a whole lotta cooking.  I would like to take a moment, perhaps several, to talk of this whole “thanks” thing.  [For the purpose of this post I am going to completely ignore the mythos so many schools celebrate regarding this holiday.]

From Merriam-Webster:

Main Entry: grat·i·tude
Pronunciation: \ˈgra-tə-ˌtüd, -ˌtyüd\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English, from Anglo-French or Medieval Latin; Anglo-French, from Medieval Latin gratitudo, from Latin gratus grateful
Date: 1523

: the state of being grateful : thankfulness

For my part, this is the time of year where my mind constantly wanders to thoughts of those who don’t have homes, food, or even family or friends with whom to celebrate or complain about.  There are many individuals whom are serving what they consider their duty in far off lands and are separated from their families during the holidays.  To all individuals whom may be in any of these situations, regardless of the time of year, you are in my thoughts, my heart and are the focus of my fervent lamentations for safety and good health.

While the film in no way is a holiday feature I wish to share these most beautiful words with you.  From “V for Vendetta”:

I hope that the worlds turns, and that things get better. But what I hope most of all is that you understand what I mean when I tell you that, even though I do not know you, and even though I may never meet you, laugh with you, cry with you, or kiss you, I love you. With all my heart, I love you.

It is that spirit I wish to impart upon all of you- the spirit of compassion and a space within all of us which is light and burden-free despite the dark spaces of weighted obligation and worry.

If you find yourselves in a position to help this holiday season please remember your local food shelves which are in desperate states this year, for there are so many it now needs to serve.

I wish all of you a very happy holiday- may it be filled with an appreciation and abundance of heart and joy.

Leave a Reply

