A note about popularity…

Today’s post is brought to you by… well, it’s not sponsored by anyone but it IS inspired by a list on Cinema Blend.  I know, I know, what is a bookish sort of person doing posting a link about movies you might have missed?  Because I got to thinking about awesome books people might have missed- that’s why.

If you’ve poked around my site you have probably noticed the book reviews featured every Friday and, hopefully, notice my passion for books in general.  Writing is included in that of course (how could it not be?!) but for right now I wanted to focus solidly on reading material.  I am putting no limiters on this list including genre fiction; they’re just books that, in my opinion, if you have not read them yet you should endeavor to do so.  And, without any further ado:

1. Stranger in a Strange Land (the original uncut version) – Robert Heinlein

2. Ahab’s Wife – Selena Jeter-Naslund

3. Oath of the Renunciates- Marion Zimmer-Bradley

4. The Things They Carried- Tim O’Brien

5. We the Living- Ayn Rand

6. Catch-22 -Joseph Heller

7. Wild Swans – Jung Chang

8. Slaughterhouse Five – Kurt Vonnegut

9. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

10.  Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

11. The Witch of Cologne- Tobsha Learner

What you first might notice about that list is the copious amounts of dead authors.  I can’t help it- they wrote classics and, in truth, those books are classics for a reason.  Those titles that aren’t considered classics are there there really for the same reasons the others are.  The writing was good, cohesive, evocative and I learned something.  While I didn’t love all those books (I reviewed Catch-22 a while back) I can honestly say they still had something to offer a reader.  Sometimes it might even be as simple as the use of paradox, perhaps a unique point of view character, or just an incredibly rich use of language and eloquent turn of phrase.

With any luck I’ll be able to put the book I currently am reading on the list but, the jury’s a wee bit out still so I shall keep that to myself.  For now.  Happy reading and, if you write, happy writing as well!

Leave a Reply

