Twenty-Six Questions

Over at “from the desk of a writer” blog mistress extraordinaire Corra McFayden posted 26 writerly questions as well as her answers to them.  Normally I shun doing this kind of thing on my blog but it seemed like so much fun I was left thinking- why the hell not?  Now, onto the questions!

1. What’s the last thing you wrote? What’s the first thing you wrote that you still have?
Part VIII of my serial, The Vagrant, which will be up and ready for viewing on Thursday.  If we’re talking manuscripts I have one in progress with the working title A Vacant Past and if we’re talking completed manuscripts then that would be In Dreams (which I’m currently shopping around).
The first thing I ever wrote was a short story about flying unicorns when I was about seven or eight.  It had pictures and was written on purple construction paper.

2. Write poetry?

Nope.  Used to, but not anymore.

3. Angsty poetry?

Nope, again!
4. Favorite genre of writing?

For my own writing I enjoy whatever the story in me demands.  Currently it’s literary fiction while its predecesser was more mainstream w/strong romantic elements and literary overtones.  In the future:  romance as well as some literary historical fiction.

5. Most annoying character you’ve ever created?

I honestly don’t know.  I think, perhaps, it might be Sue from In Dreams– she’s an incorrigible flirt- but she got incredibly likable as the story progressed.

6. Best plot you’ve ever created?

I love all the plots I work with but I seem to solidly work in the realm of people surpassing life’s difficulties.  I tend to think, thus far, I like the plot in the serial best and second best I like my wip.

7. Coolest plot twist you’ve ever created?

The villain in In Dreams as well as how the story ends.  I love a good love story and that manuscript delivered the ones I cherish most.

8. How often do you get writer’s block?

I generally don’t.  If I freeze up I generally wind up putting in a new character then see how it works out.

9. Write fan fiction?

Nope.

10. Do you type or write by hand?

I generally type.  Although, if I’m not near a computer OR I need a break from writing “stuff” I pick up a pen and write letters to family members.

11. Do you save everything you write?

Until I finish the manuscript or other wip I save it all.  When I’m done with the manuscript (as in- I’ve hacked and slashed, revised, edited then did it all again) I’ll then delete the “extras”.

12. Do you ever go back to an idea after you’ve abandoned it?

I generally don’t abandon an idea until the project is done.  So, I guess, no?  If it’s a manuscript idea- I haven’t been faced with that particular issue yet.

13. What’s your favorite thing you’ve ever written?

Tough to say.  I love the completed project as it’s, again, a love story I would love to read.  The current manuscript is more complex with a different style prose so it has different challenges in store for me- and I love that.

14. What’s everyone else’s favorite story that you’ve written?

The completed manuscript gets high marks from the audience it’s had to date, while my husband is preferring the work in progress.  Everyone’s different just as each piece of writing is.

15. Ever written romance or Angsty teen drama?

I’ve written a love story that doesn’t sit quiet easily enough in the romance genre to be called as such but, still, it’s a love story and there’s sex so….  I guess so.

16. What’s your favorite setting for your characters?

I’m enjoying the reminiscing of the protagonist from A Vacant Past about a trip he took to Paris with his family when he was quite young.

17. How many writing projects are you working on right now?

Two while lazily doing research on another.

18. Have you ever won an award for your writing?

Poetry I won a first prize award on many, many, many moons ago.

19. What are your five favorite words?

You are a brilliant author.

20. What character have you created that is most like yourself?

Julianne from In Dreams.  There are some important differences between her and I but, ultimately, her and I have had to combat some similar self-defeating attitudes.  She does kick more ass than I ever did though.

21. Where do you get ideas for your characters?

The come from what the story needs, primarily.  Off of that loose idea, if they’re a main character, I will do up a psych profile.

22. Do you ever write based on your dreams?

Nope.  Although I sometimes dream about my characters but that’s really quite different.

23. Do you favor happy endings?

I like something redeemable to occur, something good not a tragedy that shits all over anything potentially worthwhile that could have been said.  So, yes, if it fits the story then I like a happy ending.  This is not to be confused with the saccharin riddled endings that go into the “everything comes up daisies and unicorn farts that smell like cinnamon”.  Sadness, tragedy, when done right, work well too but that is getting overused just as badly as the saccharin endings and to no greater purpose.  There’s a more in depth post on that coming on Monday.  🙂

24. Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?

Too much so at times.  Spelling is something I can never overlook, but grammar I can put off picking at until a later date.  Sometimes.

25. Does music help you write?

I’ve found it works well for a break, to wipe the slate clean as it were- but when I listen to music one of two things happen.  1.  If it has words, I start writing to the rhythm I hear.  This is not good for my prose.  2.  If it has no words, i.e. it’s classical, I get too distracted and just can’t write.

26. Quote something you’ve written. Whatever pops into your head.

He looked furtively around the room, seeing that several of his fellow inmates were now looking at him and was filled with disappointment that he had, once again, called out.  His therapists over the years had told him it didn’t matter if he had to verbally fight the delusions, so long as he fought them.  Even now he could picture Julianne moving steadily, gracefully through the courtroom, her heels clicking on the tile in a music that was sweet enough to stir the kindest sentiments he possessed; but she wasn’t his.

She wasn’t his.

5 responses to “Twenty-Six Questions

  • Corra McFeydon

    I knew you’d have something to say about the happy endings!

    I normally don’t like adding these sorts of posts to my blog, either, but something about this one interested me. I love hearing different perspectives from writers.

    Interesting you don’t abandon an idea until the project is done. We must be of different mindsets there. If I sense it isn’t working, I feel I’m wasting my time to continue.

    Great post! Thanks for the mention. 🙂

    Corra

    from the desk of a writer

    • kimberlyloomis

      I feel the same way, Corra- different perspectives makes things very interesting.

      I don’t know if it’s good or bad that I don’t abandon ideas for so long. I’m guessing it really has to do with how stubborn I am and if I set it aside then it’s like I lost. After all- if it’s my creation then I should be able to figure out a way to make it work, right? *sigh* Again, stubbornness. 😛

      Thanks and of course!

  • Carol Kilgore

    As a new reader here, it was nice learning this about you.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Thanks for taking the time to read it. I feel a bit odd posting things like this but figured since it was about writing it would be alright. 🙂

  • Courtney Vail

    Great questions and answers! I love hearing what other people have worked on. We’re both in the same boat too, shopping a work and working on others. Good to know and nice to meet you.

Leave a Reply

