Ten Random Books

I must thank two people for this little gem of a meme:  Bookworm Chronicles and Savidge Reads.  I won’t tag anyone to do this but will instead ask that you, dear bloggers, post it at will if it strikes you as fun.  The other people who have posted their lists took lovely pictures of their ten books and instead I was going to share with you a picture of my bookcases, just so you have an idea as to what I was up against however- we’ve had massive computer issues so photos of the hellatious mess that is my books did not make it onto this computer in time for posting.

Now, here’s the list!

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

This came from a section of my book case that is alphabetized by author and, strange though it may be, I would have preferred to have grasped Jane Eyre– alas, I got this gothic love story.  As a long time romance reader one would think I should have loved it but, I didn’t.  It isn’t even personally applicable unless you want to talk about the obsessive tendencies I had in previous relationships but never in such a state so as to fool someone to marry me just so I can make my love jealous.  I’m not daft or insane thank you very much.

Stalin: The Court of the Red Tsar

I’m a history buff.  Yes indeedly do.  I’m particularly interested in Russian history ever since reading Rand’s We the Living.  Unable to find in depth information on the rise of the Bolsheviks, Lenin’s reign as well as some about Stalin on the internet I decided to add a couple tomes to my own collection for easy access.  Admittedly I wouldn’t have set out to purchase books such as these if it weren’t for my serious interest in writing a fictional work set during these time periods.

Son of the Morning by Linda Howard

As I said above- I have been reading romance novels a long time but this novel was the first one I had ever read by Linda Howard.  I found it to be a wonderful novel about the myths of the Templar Knights as well as including copious amounts of adventure our dear heroine serendipitously falls into.  This was a wonderfully fun read in which Howard did an exemplary job blending myth and history while having an engaging plot.

The Tain

Ah, flavors from the last literature class I took.  I only read sections of this at the time and, honestly, next to the Iliad (which I read in the same class) it didn’t really capture my attention.  I am, once again, all about history and cultures and so reading a book originally written in Gaelic (I have a translated copy) was intriguing to me.  Besides- who can really resist learning more about the land that brought us myths like Leprechauns and beer like Guinness?  [I’ve also always been thought to be Irish thanks to my red hair and so I like to pretend I am upon occasion.]

Robert’s Rules of Writing by Robert Masello

Hilarious book about writing.  Really.  Totally dug this book and still occasionally pick it up and flip through it when I need a laugh and/or encouragement.  And, well, I’m a writer- see the connection?

Reading the Body by Ohashi

This was a really awesome book required by one of my classes at massage school.  If you’re a body worker and have not read this book I recommend you do so.  Now.  And, yes, for a short time I worked as a Licensed Massage Therapist.  Boy do I miss the days of attending massage classes- every hands on class I got a massage.  *sigh*

Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

I’m not always a huge Fantasy genre person.  I do like some paranormal stuff, a bit of sci-fi, but fantasy is something I never really got into.  Lord of the Rings was a set of books I only began reading after seeing the first two movies (I couldn’t wait to see the last one to find out what happened) and, after dragging myself through that wretchedly long winded part about Hobbits’ family trees, fell in love.  To this day THE two fantasy authors I read and reread are Tolkein and Marion Zimmer Bradley.

Pavilion of Women by Pearl S. Buck

Again- I love reading about other cultures and, after reading The Good Earth, thought I’d like to read another book by Buck.  Luckily this one was far better than the sequel to The Good Earth, Sons. This story speaks of the strength of women in a culture renowned for its patriarchal society.  It’s eloquent, heart warming and NOT AT ALL LIKE THE MOVIE which you should not watch.  This kind of ties in with another book I wound up picking from another bookshelf…

Wild Swans by Jung Chang

I read this at a classmate’s behest who was partaking in the journey of learning Chinese language with me.  It’s an autobiography of a family covering three generations, the author being the last in the line of family members we learn about.  This was the first autobiography I had read in which I was moved to tears several times over.  Outrage poured out of me with the understanding of politics, popularity and what happens when power amasses in such a way it is beyond the people to do anything about.  I credit this book with my political awakenings as well as my very deep concern for people in such situations.  The story spans the fall of Chang Kai-Shek, through Mao’s rise to power, The Great Leap Forward as well as The Cultural Revolution and all from the eyes and memory of a girl whose parents were both officers in the Communist Party.

Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein

Ah, the first science fiction book I ever read and one that still resides in my top ten books of all time (that I’ve read, of course) list.  The world building is phenomenal, the characters intriguing (all you Jubal Harshaw fans out there know exactly what I’m talking about), and the philosophy Heinlein imbues into it are unforgettable.  It’s a dense tome (I’ve only read the uncut version released after Heinlein’s death) in subject matter as well as thickness but it’s well worth it.  To this day I credit this book with helping me grok some of life’s most profound gifts.

What are some of your favorite books?  Ever read some of those mentioned?  If you were to grab ten random books would they all wind up in a particular genre?  C’mon- I’m nosy, do tell.

13 responses to “Ten Random Books

  • jessicabookworm

    I’ve read Wuthering Heights and most definitely read The Lord of the Rings, I absolutely love Tolkien although my favourite book of his is The Hobbit. I really enjoyed reading this, lovely little snippits into your life, I’m glad your also a history geek like me!

    • kimberlyloomis

      I have yet to read The Hobbit (I know, I know… ) Glad you enjoyed the list! At some point in the near future, after assembling ANOTHER book case I’ll post a pic of our library. It’s really cool to know there are others like me in the world that totally get into learning about history and other cultures. Thanks for taking the time to stop by, Jessica!

  • Secretia

    Books are the greatest values in the world.

    Thanks for visiting Secret Story Time, come often!

    Secretia

  • Southpaw

    What a great book list. There are a couple there that I haven’t heard of. I’ll have to check them out. Books are such a wonderful creation.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Indeed they are! They’re also my biggest weakness. Some women by shoes or clothes for comfort and I buy books and chocolate. Far more books than chocolate, thank goodness, but I’m seriously running out of room! Darn that Borders clearance bin! Kind of. 🙂

  • Carol Kilgore

    Linda Howard is one of my favorite authors. I read across genres and lot of non-fiction. I finally have my to-be-read books on one shelf, but I’ve been restraining myself from buying more. And there’s always the library.

    • kimberlyloomis

      I enjoy her immensely as well. I recently came across a very old book of hers, Silhouette I think, and consider it to be one of the gems in my personal library. Restraint is something I seem to have little of when it comes to buying books- but I do try. Thank goodness for libraries! Although there have been a couple things I’ve borrowed I wound up going out and purchasing afterward… I’m trying to stop that.

  • Jan

    Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders books were also great fun as were the other Pern books i recalled. I liked how she developed her civilization and her characters, including the dragons. Although I appreciate Marion Zimmer Bradley’s civilization of psychics much more.

  • Peyton

    ‘Wuthering Heights’ by Emily Bronte is my absolute all-time favourite book.
    I can’t believe you don’t love it?!
    I just crave that raw intense passion that Cathy and Heathcliff share. Free from reason, logic or sanity. It’s as wild as the moors.

    Peyton x

    • kimberlyloomis

      I don’t know what it was about Wuthering Heights that got me. I spent the majority of the book being completely annoyed but sometime before the end I was in awe! Still not a favorite but easily one of the best written books I’ve partaken of. I prefer the love of Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester- I just can’t help it.

  • Corra McFeydon

    Sounds like some great selections.

    Wuthering Heights is on my TBR. I’ve heard mixed reactions to it. I wonder if I’ll like it? Time will tell!!

    🙂

    Corra

    from the desk of a writer

Leave a Reply

