It’s Finally Happened

I didn’t mean to procrastinate this long.  Really I didn’t.    But, ‘lo and behold I have and now I have one week to do all my judging for the Golden Acorn contest.  It isn’t so much I don’t want to, it’s just that I’ve been writing a goodly amount and have not wanted to take a break from it to tend to other people’s writing.  Selfish, I know.  It’s for that very same reason I haven’t been reading as much as I usually do.

Some books get manage to enchant me while simultaneously perverting my narrative and Watership Down is certainly to be included amongst them.  Although, gratefully, it has not really done this to me until recently.  Up until this point the only reason I haven’t been reading it all that much is due to the rather impressive suspense Adams manages to maintain throughout the book.  I know that sounds rather counter-intuitive, but this book honestly fills me with concern for the wee little rabbits that I cringe every time I flip the page.  Back to my point – yesterday I found myself wanting to inject a story within the story being told by one of the protagonists and realized “wait a minute!  That isn’t my style!”  Luckily I had discovered this issue before I had begun writing said narrative, but it still gave me pause.  Periodically I’ve wound up changing rhythm and language use around inadvertently when I was reading, say, Wuthering Heights or Jane Eyre (in case you don’t know – I do NOT write 18th Century British Literature in any way, shape or form).  Unfortunately, I wasn’t as quick with my realization during that one and so a deletin’ I went.

And, I’m sorry to say, all this post does is lead me up to saying I am going to take a week off from blogging.  That’s right – a whole week!  I will be posting some of my oldies but goodies, possibly even the first episodes of my serial,  and will be dropping in to comment and the like.  I’m very hopeful I’ll be able to get some new posts ready (in advance) during this time as well as finish my judging duties.  Well, the judging duties HAVE to be done so we shall see how the rest goes.

Just out of curiosity – do you guys have the same problem with reading as I do?  How do you get rid of that newly acquired accent to write in your own voice again?

12 responses to “It’s Finally Happened

  • Teresa

    Good for you!

    I think I am inspired by other writers. I don’t know if I take on their voice in my own writing. But I do know whomever I am with, I take on their accent and dialect. So maybe I do.

    Teresa

    • kimberlyloomis

      Teresa – Thanks! I do the same thing! Wish I had picked up that French accent when I was in Paris a few years back, though. For some reason I can pick up a Southern twang in nothing flat, but no fabulously exotic accent.

  • Jocelyn Guerette

    Maybe lessen the distraction of other writers works, but how do you do that?? So many books, so little time 🙂 Writers love to read and write, but I think the more you write the more command (? for want of a better word) and polish you’ll gain of your voice’s uniqueness.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Jocelyn- I totally agree! The more I write the stronger my voice becomes. And still… there are just soooo many books I want to read!

  • Laura Marcella

    I love Watership Down! I haven’t read it in years. I think this summer is a good time to re-read it then!

    I don’t think I adapt other writers’ voices to my own. I’m still wondering if I even like my own voice, lol!

    Good luck with your judging!!!

    • kimberlyloomis

      Laura – Thanks! I’m really hoping I get through at least a couple entries tonight.

      I had the same problem (unsure about my own voice) with my first couple projects. In places I’m sure they sounded like they were written by a schizophrenic.

  • Glynis

    You think Watership Down gets you going, do you? Try reading God Game by Andrew Greeley. I did twice as much thinking as reading while I was reading that book.

    Sometimes you just have to take some time off. I know how that is. See you next week.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Glynis – I will have to look into that one. Thanks! There are some books that drive me to think, but Watership Down hasn’t driven me there quite yet. Well, excepting my wondering when the axe is going to fall. I just get so nervous for those bunnies! And the power struggle that seems to be imminent has me practically biting my nails!

      And thanks! The time off was definitely necessary – especially since I waited until the last minute to get to that judging.

  • Elliot Grace

    …I’m constantly with a book in hand, thus making it difficult to move between my voice, and whomever I’m reading. I think perhaps when the struggle becomes less tedious, that’s when a writer truly begins to shine.
    …Watership Down is a classic. One of only a couple novels I actually read twice:)

    • kimberlyloomis

      Elliot – I’m having such a difficult time getting through it and for no particular reason that I can discern. I suppose if I had to put my finger on something it would be that edgy feeling of impending doom that keeps me wanting to leave it where all the bunnies are alive. 🙂

      Your words ring quite true to me about the struggle to use one’s own voice in writing. So difficult to say no to a good book even knowing it might make the struggle to right in an authentic voice a tad more difficult.

  • Corra McFeydon

    Ha ha – that’s funny. I had to read Percy Shelley’s A Defense of Poetry not long ago for my British Lit class, and the professor mocked me for sounding a bit over-the-top in my essay. Really, everyone came off sounding grandly Percian. 😀

    – Corra

    from the desk of a historical writer

Leave a Reply

