I’m Awesome

Awesomely gifted when it comes to clumsiness that is!    If you thought my making French toast was a tremendous fete well, let me assure you, I have out done myself.  This was not the post I had planned on running and believe me when I tell you I had no intention of writing this at all until now, but things happen.  Before I offered you cute pictures via the web to show a week in pictures.  Now, I am going to first preface this by recalling to your attention that my husband has recently become a small business owner and is now partner of Brew & Wine Hobby.  You know what that means?  That means I still have four more days left of my 13 day stretch of hubby being around very little during the awake hours of our little one.  Now, I would like to add to that understanding with this image:

Oh, yeah.  That’s me with a broken right foot.  And how did I do it?  Well, luckily it had nothing to do with French Toast, instead it had everything to do with me stepping out of my front door.  I didn’t even have the good grace to fall spectacularly!  I stepped out, twisted ever so slightly, slid my foot a bit, heard a crack then – voila!  Haven’t walked on it since.

And, yes, being that my hubby does now own a store and what not this also means he can no way be away from the place to aid me in the endeavor that is keeping up with a two year old.  Luckily I have some awesome family who has driven down to make sure I got to appointments to get this diagnosed.  Did I mention I couldn’t drive to the doctors’?  Come to think of it I probably didn’t mention I actually can’t drive for six weeks yet.  SIX WEEKS!!!!!!!  So went the notion of me being able to through el kiddo in the car and go for a drive when he wanted to run around.  Well, at least I had recently given myself a pedicure.  If I’m going to have to wear that damned unsexy boot at least my toes look pretty gosh darn it!

I’ll be back to writing about writing in relatively short order and can only hope I manage to actually get my mind back on writing soon.  For right now it’s kind of in a blender stuck on puree.

Have any of you broken anything?  Any great story to go with?  No need to be shy.  It’s only the interweb where EVERYONE can see what you type.  😉

16 responses to “I’m Awesome

  • Glynis J. Jolly

    Oh Kim! Should we call you Grace from now on? Actually, 2-year-olds can be very helpful when absolutely needed. Me being disabled, I know this for a fact. My son would push the clothes basket, filled with dirty laundry, from the bedroom to the washer in the kitchen for me. I also let him clean the windows that he could reach.

  • Teresa

    Wellll you’re still awesome! Poor you. I would help you if I lived closer.

    Yes, I have broken my little baby toe on my left foot twice. They wouldn’t cast it, so we taped it to the other toe otherwise it flopped (medical term) away from the the other toes causing much pain.

    Get better, two year old’ demand it. 🙂

  • laurelrainsnow

    OMG, that kind of thing always seems to happen at the WORST possible time. Not that there’s ever a good time for this…

    I’ve never broken anything, but I had a herniated disk and was off work for 8 mos, including time after the surgery. I couldn’t drive, either, and my daughter had to get her license quickly!

    If I’d had a two-year-old at the time…oh, my!

  • Jes Mauldin

    Well Sunshine-Sorry to hear of your foot issue. I myself just went through that in January, if you recall. I went down the stairs the day before getting on the airplane to go get married. Did not feel a crack, just felt pain- thought I pulled or twisted it wrong- shrugged it off and went of to the Bahamas for my nuputials. Walked around for two weeks on it with out knowing it was broken..came back to the states and finally went. Only to be told it was broken- Insurance didn’t cover the boot, so I hobbled around in sneakers for 6 weeks. Boy were they stunning with my three piece business suits!! Then I find out I’m pregnant so hobbling around and morning sickness…holy fun way to start off a new marriage!

    PS-Your awesome in my book- but thanks so much for sticking that song ‘I’m Awesome” by Spose in my head while reading your blog.

  • Jes Mauldin

    Oh an BTW- I did break my elbow last easter hiking. Just randomly fell -apparently my body decided to make sure gravity worked that day. I think I need more calcium.

  • Helen Ginger

    Never broken a bone. Did cut my foot and have to be on crutches when I was in middle school, so I can sympathize.

    What a pain in the patootie for you! Congrats on the hubby’s new business thought.

    Straight From Hel

  • Laura Marcella

    Oh no! Boo, this stinks. Hope you recover and things go smoothly! And congrats to your hubby!

  • Jemi Fraser

    Yikes! You poor thing! Good luck with everything.

    I’ve been lucky – and yes I’m touching a lot of wood. My son on the other hand, he’s broken at least 6 bones – well had 6 incidents – some of them were multiple bones. *sigh* He’s not even klutzy like I can be – he just plays his sports really, really hard.

  • Merrilee

    I’ve never broken anything. You have my sympathy! Life is trying enough with a 2yo, without breaking your foot, too 🙂

    Hang in there!

  • Corra McFeydon

    Oh no!! Get well soon, Kimberly!

    I’ve never broken anything, thank goodness. That either means I’m lucky or lacking in daring. 🙂

    – Corra

    the victorian heroine

  • Random Observations in Reading « The Perpetual Writer

    […] on June 11, 2010 by kimberlyloomis While getting back into the groove of getting things done (albeit a bit more clumsily) I’ve been taking the time to read a book loaned me by a friend (Hi, Jes!):  Saving CeeCee […]

  • Mae

    Ouch from one clutz to another! Hope you get better soon. And congrats on being a business owner!

    I remember when I was working as a waiter one night and I just tripped over nothing. The ground was as flat as imaginable and there was nothing in my path. And yet I tripped. In front of the entire restaurant. Boy, was my face red. Luckily, I wasn’t holding any dishes!

  • Joy

    By the sound of it, you’re taking things in stride. A positive attitude does wonders!

    • kimberlyloomis

      Joy- Haha! You said “stride”! 😉 I’m doing my best. Admittedly I’m getting quite sick of crawling up the stairs.

Leave a Reply

