Monty Python Monday

On last week’s Monty Python Monday we were talking about some of our favorite funnies.  Hart over at Confessions of a Watery Tart mentioned this one: 

I was totally going to be a slacker and just post the vid and be done with it, however, I actually had an AHA! moment while watching that little gem and figured I’d blather on a bit.  You don’t mind do you?  Well, if you do you can certainly skim, but you might miss something and you wouldn’t want to do that…  Would you?  Of course not!

Having been reading a couple romances I consider to be not so awesomely written and still like crack (why is that?!) this clip recalled to mind the insult.  In particular I’m thinking of the absurdly cliched confrontation that some authors feel compelled to stick into their works.  Inevitably this means insults are either hurled verbally OR the main character we’re supposed to be sympathetic to is thinking them.  In order for the confrontation to work for me it needs to not reek of something as adolescent as Twilight (well, unless it IS Twilight) AND should do one of two things:  make me laugh in hilarity or deliver such a righteous comeuppance that it leaves me cheering “BOOYAH!”  If you read my Friday post you can probably guess the confrontations in these two books were more akin to YA “confront the ex” weeniedom than anything else.  Truth be told the author didn’t really have it in her to do the mature comeuppance I craved, but with some stellar humor it would have been awesome.   The only wonderful and hilarious confrontation that readily comes to mind was one in J.D. Robb’s “Innocent in Death” where the heroine punches out the “other woman” then her husband.  It was truly a gem of a scene that left me cheering and snickering – a rare fete it would seem.

Are there any you can point out/share?

4 responses to “Monty Python Monday

  • Helen Ginger

    This makes me wonder at the age of the writer. An older writer might write similar to what s/he used to read. YA books 20 years ago were much different thatn today’s.

  • Carol Kilgore

    I expect different things from different writers so it doesn’t bother me too much.

  • Corra McFeydon

    I like a good rip-roaring verbal fight, but it does need to have a purpose. You can tell when it’s just been thrown in for fire and doesn’t move the character or plot arc.

    – Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

  • Hart

    For starters… YAY FOR A FRENCH TAUNTING!!!!! Thank you for picking my favorite part!

    Totally with you on humor. I think real couples say terrible things to each other, but only after an escalation that had a realistic start–genuine conflicting perspectives, or fears. Fears I think are especially nice because it is one that can be revealed and resolved… different metatheories on how the world works take quite a lot more effort and it annoys me when somebody gives up their perspective for another unless it is huge and plausible. Characters that act 14 though, annoy me to all get out. (even if they ARE 14)

Leave a Reply

