A little peek…

Anna and Bonnie have both been talking about their TBR shelves and I thought of how fascinating it is to see what others gravitate toward.  In hopes you find this interesting as well I thought I’d offer you a couple snapshots that in no way fully encompasses all the books I own that are on my TBR excel spreadsheet.  [Why yes, I AM that anal.]

This is a picture of my romance TBR shelf and, interestingly enough, is also what accumulates when my mother cleared out her shelves:

I have only read a couple of the ones you see in that picture and I truly meant to read some of the others a while back, but…  well…  I went to the library a lot and subsequently got distracted.  There was also an issue of reading a string of bad ones that rather put me off the genre reading and put me back into the realm of literary fiction.  And without much further ado:

Yep.  Sad part of this is I actually have two books out of the library right now AND another shelf upon which two Crichton and four Heinlein books that are also on my TBR list rest.  To name a few you might not be able to discern (from the pic on the left):  Noble House, Saving Fish from Drowning, The Book Thief, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Lenin’s Private War, Stalin:  The Court of the Red Czar, The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.  Some of the authors on my romance shelf (because I can’t make out the titles nor am I going to be hobbling down the stairs again to take a proper look) are:  Linda Howard, Jude Deveraux, Alex Kava, Jan Coffey and Stella Cameron.  I obviously don’t need to be going to the library, however I currently have a book by Mary Balogh on my desk just taunting me to read just a bit more instead of working on my wip.  [I WILL be victorious!]

When ever I do manage to knock a book off my TBR list I actually mark the date I finished reading it on my spreadsheet and sometimes make a few little notes to remind me what I thought of it.  How do you keep track?  How do you select what book to read next?  Am I the only one with a problem keeping away from library books while I have so many in my own house that have yet to be read?

13 responses to “A little peek…

  • Anna C. Bowling

    First, you do so have historicals on your TBR shelf. One and a half, to be exact. Jude Deveraux’s The Temptress and Linda Lael Miller’s My Outlaw (TT, thus the half.) Yes, I did enlarge the picture so I could see titles. I love seeing other people’s shelves.

    My selection process varies. I read by story and by feel. My backlog is enormous, so I make a shortlist, as shown in my TBR post. When a book moves from the shortlist to being read, then that opens a spot on the shortlist. Sometimes I’ll move another book into that spot right away and sometimes I’ll wait for all spots to open and then fill all at once.

    Will now quit hogging your blogspace and formulate “how I read” post for my own.

  • Teresa

    I laughed out loud when you said “…I truly meant to read some of the others a while back, but… well… I went to the library a lot and subsequently got distracted.” Books are a distractor. And in a perfect world, I would finish the books I have in my TBR stack before bringing a new one into the family.

  • Jes Mauldin

    I saw one of the books I lent you!

  • Carol Kilgore

    Um, I don’t have a spreadsheet. But I do keep an index card with books and authors to look for when I go book shopping – wherever that is, including the library. I do not keep a list of what I’ve read.

  • jessicabookworm

    You are certainly not the only one that may have plenty to read in the house but can’t stay away from the library. There are a few reasons I will choose a book next to read, either I’ve recently read a great review or I’ve read a similar genre that I loved or it can be as simple as someone has reserved it at the library so I can’t renew it lol!

  • ElliotGrace

    …don’t fret, Kim. My THREE bookshelves look identical. Books stacked upon books. Many unread, others too enjoyable to trade in. And sadly, a list of unclaimed novels waiting at the library. So little time…

  • Jemi Fraser

    A spreadsheet? Really? I love it – but I’d never be able to do it. I just stack things, and then troll to see what I’m in the mood for when I finish another book. No plans.

  • Bonnie

    Wow, a spreadsheet! That’s great! You make me laugh. 🙂

  • DL Hammons

    You are MUCH too organized for me! 🙂 I’ve restrained myself over the past year and I’m down to only three books on my TBR shelf. It’s killing me though!!

  • Mae

    Oh, I keep a list of my books in a spreadsheet too and I have them marked whether they’ve been read. It’s not anal – it’s being organised! I’d love to see pictures of your library. 🙂

  • Corra McFeydon

    Are you not on Goodreads? For some reason I thought you were. That’s how I keep track. You can order your TBRs, and leave reviews. See what others thought. All the good stuff…

    Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

    • kimberlyloomis

      I have an account on Goodreads, but for some reason I haven’t used it in about a year or two. I think I need to get back over there and actually use it. 🙂 Thanks for the reminder of how good a tool it is. 🙂

  • J.L. Campbell

    Hey, Kimberly!

    I haven’t visited a library in ages. I tend to read whatever takes my fancy and sometimes I skip what I have next on the list if something else seems more appealing.

    How’s the leg?

Leave a Reply

