It’s the Simple Things

Corra over at The Victorian Heroine spoke about some of the simple joys she has in life, as did Lua over at Bowl of Oranges (Lua did the original post) and it got me to thinking about these things as well.  I suppose it only makes sense when one is less than fully mobile to truly take stock of what matters.  While I have been getting caught up in the “I can’t believe I can’t go to the grocery store/Target/out for coffee/out for a WALK” grumps the truth is I have learned what really matters.  When I’m not grumping anyway.

Before I get to those wonderful things, however, I would like to bring up a few very valuable lessons I  have learned in the last few weeks.  The first is this:  Doctors, while I sometimes disagree with their practices, many really know what they’re doing and should probably be listened to.  How did I learn this?  In a pique I took off my boot of fabulousness and went driving.  It took about two minutes before my foot was screaming and I realized I had absolutely no desire to clench my teeth every time I hit the brake.

Simple thing: My health.  There are few things worth risking it for and, rest assured, driving when you don’t need to is not one of them.

If anyone has ever listened to a two year old struggle with their speech ad infinitum then you’ll know when I say there is nothing more preciously aggravating then hearing the same words over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and over….  That these are sometimes interspersed with whiny tones is just the icing on the cake.

Simple thing: To hear my son say “mama”, “hug”, “kiss” and even “mmm good” (particularly since this is said unsolicited when he has my home made chocolate ice cream) fills me with such joy I can not even explain it.  Truly, this makes all those frustrating moments disappear with love solidly in its place.

And now, here’s simply a list:

Hugging and kissing my son.

Doing the same with my husband.

Good conversations with those I love.

Reading a remarkable piece of literature.

Blowing bubbles.

Making something tasty.  [This includes eating something tasty, even if I made it, because I truly am a hedonist.]

Writing.

What are your simple pleasures in life?

22 responses to “It’s the Simple Things

  • Merrilee

    Great list! I can relate to these 😀 I think time with my family is a simple pleasure that I often take for granted, because they are always there. Must remember to appreciate them at the time 🙂

  • Jemi Fraser

    Great list! It really is important to enjoy the simple things.

    Kids, hubby & family of course.
    Food in the fridge.
    Good health.

    And this week – air conditioning!

    • kimberlyloomis

      I like your list, Jemi! And boy, oh boy do I appreciate my air conditioning right now, too! I’m looking forward to the thunderstorms tonight or tomorrow to break up this insane heat. Even the little one doesn’t want to be outside!

  • Carol Kilgore

    Simple things win. Hands down. No discussion required 🙂

  • Laura Marcella

    Love this post! It’s important to remember the simple things in life. Less is more!

    Snuggling with my hubby while watching a Phillies game
    Catching fireflies with my nieces and nephews
    Roasting marshmallows over a firepit for s’mores

    • kimberlyloomis

      That is a great list, Laura. And now I am filled with the sudden urge to buy graham crackers and marshmallows – probably some more chocolate (although that part is hardly unusual for me). 😉

  • Lua

    What an amazing post Kimberly! Thank you for contributing to the list- it’s those little things that help us survive our day to day lives 🙂

  • Helen Ginger

    Reading. Home-made vanilla ice cream. Talking with my sisters. Seeing my daughter and my son. Hugging my husband. Listening to music with my headphones on.

    Straight From Hel

    • kimberlyloomis

      How wonderful, Helen! I’m now having the urge to put some Rachmaninoff on my stereo and to dig up a recipe for vanilla ice cream. 🙂

  • ElliotGrace

    …great list, Kimberly:)

    It’s the simple things that stand the test of time. Offering advice to my kids…then watching in awe as they actually listen to my insight, and succeed in whatever challenge they’ve been dwelt. I live for that.

  • Teresa

    After being so ill for a week with a kidney infection (have never been so ill) I learned I need to take better care of myself simply because I only have one me. Lesson learned.

    Great post.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Teresa – Glad to see you, errr, up and about! Only one you and since it’s such a wonderful you please take care of yourself. 🙂

  • Hart

    It’s so true, isn’t it? That an illness or injury can really put into perspective what matters, and the everyday things we take for granted. I hope you heal quickly.

    I broke my hand a few years ago now, and the person I came to really respect was my physical therapist. She was SO SMART around what I needed to do and I really feel like truly listening to her and doing what she told me to is what meant I was eventually FULLY healed rather than just functional.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Hart – Your hand?! You poor thing! Glad you were able to heal up okay. There are some truly amazing practitioners out there and it’s wonderful to be able to benefit from their expertise and knowledge (should we have the wisdom to do so). And thank you. Hopefully only a little more than a week before I can take the boot off. 🙂

  • lyndalepress

    Great list! Also on my list, along with health, good food, good books, and family/friends, are:

    fountains
    flowers
    fires, bonfire or fireplace
    restaurants with “twinkle” lights
    berries
    a good cup of coffee in the morning and time to enjoy it

    • kimberlyloomis

      What a lovely list, Anne! That cup of coffee, enjoyed in quiet and being uninterrupted is something I fantasize about these days. 🙂

  • Corra McFeydon

    Thanks for sharing what makes you smile, Kimberly! I love the positive vibe in these posts. It leaves me with a warm feeling – which is another simple thing I love.

    Have a great Sunday!!

    (Love the new template.)

    – Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

    • kimberlyloomis

      Corra – Thank you so much for your post and list as well. It was wonderfully surprising and welcome encouragement to do likewise. 🙂

      Glad you like the new layout. 🙂

Leave a Reply

