Paris in July

I can’t quite recall how it was I found this wonderful blogging idea, but I do know that Karen over at BookBath is one of the hosts.  The truth is, artistically, I adore Paris.  I’ve only been once so far in my life, but it was remarkable, beautiful and so thoroughly wonderful I heartily encourage those who are able to go visit at some point.  There are no particular rules to this blogfest, however I decided to post some pictures from my brief visit to the City of Lights.

The Louvre

The requisite shot of the inverted pyramid in the Louvre.

Somewhere outside the Louvre.

Even the Metro is pretty.

The Rodin Museum

Rodin's Sculpture Garden

More from the Rodin Museum

The Eiffel Tower

The River Seine as viewed from the Eiffel Tower

The Arc de Triomphe

Napoleon's Tomb

Napoleon's Tomb (again).

Somewhere outside the Louvre.

Geneva (I know it's not Paris OR France, but they speak French there so it kind of counts... right?)

Fauchon

Jeremy and Claire - Two truly wonderful hosts who I hope to visit again someday.

Notre Dame

Galaries Lafayette

Champs Elysees

For additional posts regarding the culture of Paris please check out a post I did about Rodin (yeah, pics!) and a review of The Elegance of the Hedgehog (takes place in Paris and written by a native).

For some of the culinary pleasures I must direct you to a few places I was fortunate enough to experience while there:  Pierre Herme (best pastries EVER) ; Hediard ( I was too afraid to go into Fauchon as their displays made me feel under dressed, but Hediard was also something to behold); Cacao et Chocolat had the most amazing hot chocolate; and one can not be a lover of wine without heading over to Lavinia and checking out the splendor that is their multiple floored wine selection [I spent the most money in that one spot on TWO bottles of wine – both currently cellared; one a Bordeaux and the other a merlot.]

21 responses to “Paris in July

  • martha drummond

    Very nice pictures Kim- For some reason Napoleon’s tomb picture intrigued me. The detail in the sculpture appears so vivid and highly polished, with lots of color. You could make a wonderful wall calender for yourself and use it daily just to bring back memories of one of those treats in life that you allowed yourself to have. I know that Raelyn had had the picture that you had left on your computer up for a long time, and frequently commented on how much she admired it. My niece was luck enough to have a study year abroad in the Paris area. She is studying design at the University of Illinois and is doing an internship at Burberry’s this summer in NYC. May go down to NYC to visit my nephew and neice this summer, while I am on my hiatus. I’ve been wanting to read the Elegance of a Hedgehog book. Will try picking it up at the library. Hope your trip to the foot doc works out well.
    I’m going to work on that production of ginger beer today, thanks to your husband. Keep on dreaming.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Good luck with the ginger beer, Martha! I can only imagine what it would be like to study in Paris for the year. How wonderful! Napoleon’s Tomb (visible from the Rodin Museum) is truly worth seeing. I was blown away by all the riches it held and the truly divine sculptures and displays. Had my father not informed me I should see it I probably would have not gone at all. Very, very glad I did.

  • Jemi Fraser

    So lovely! One of these days… 🙂

  • Tiana Smith

    Paris is probably my favorite city in all of Europe 🙂 I loved it there and would love to go back. I loved the street vendors and the vibe of the city. France. Sigh. Good memories.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Tiana – The vibe is truly one of a kind. I hope to explore the country further on some other date. Yeah for good memories!

      Thanks so much for visiting!

  • Carol Kilgore

    Love the photos. I wanna go!

    • kimberlyloomis

      Well, the Euro is slowly coming down in value. Deals will be had in the next year if you want to go. 😉 Glad you liked the pic, Carol!

  • lyndalepress

    Oh Paris, je t’adore. Any book lovers out there must, must visit Shakespeare & Co. when in the city.

    A few pictures from my recent trip here:
    http://lyndalepress.wordpress.com/2010/06/02/im-back/

    • kimberlyloomis

      And wouldn’t you know it? I totally didn’t know about Shakespeare & Co. until just this past year! Darn it all! Heading over to look at your pictures now, Anne!

  • Lua

    I LOVE these photos! Wow Kimberly, they all look amazing, especially the Eifel Tower with the lights 🙂 I’ve been to Paris only once, almost 3 years ago but you made me want to go again!

    • kimberlyloomis

      Lua – Me too! Both only once and it was slightly more than three years ago for me. That city needs to be seen when it’s all decked out for the holiday, in my opinion. Absolutely breath taking.

  • Joanne

    Beautiful images here. I always get the sense of time, and history, looking at photographs from Europe. Did you go into the Notre Dame Cathedral? Someone I know once wanted to attend a Christmas mass there, but unfortunately was never able to.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Joanne – Unfortunately, I never went inside the Cathedral. The next time I go I’m certainly going to do so. I can’t even imagine how packed it is for a Christmas mass. The old and new are a remarkable contrast and compliment within the city, that is for certain. 🙂

  • J.L. Campbell

    These pictures were a treat. Made me wonder if I’ll ever make it that far.

  • Helen Ginger

    Thanks for the pictures. Brought back memories! We missed Napoleon’s tomb, though.

    Straight From Hel

  • Mae

    Great pics. Paris sure does look like a beautiful city. I hope to go there maybe next year. Every time I think of Paris now though (and no thanks to one Paris Hilton) I think of the Henry Miller quote especially since I’ve never been:

    “Paris is like a whore. From a distance she seems ravishing, you can’t wait until you have her in your arms. And five-minutes later you feel empty, disgusted with yourself. You feel tricked.”

    • kimberlyloomis

      That is a wonderful quote, Mae. I don’t agree, but that’s some great writing. 🙂 Definitely worth a visit, if for no other reason than the chocolate and food. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

