Hope

If people could be completely rational creatures, drives and desires explained with objective terms, then things would be easier.  Imagine this also – a place where people kept their goals low so they might more easily attain them with very minimal risk of emotional involvement/upset.  Is this what happiness could be comprised of?  The mere setting and reaching of reasonable goals and the complete obfuscation of how one comes to the meaning of what is reasonable?

To my way of thinking this happens frequently in the real world.  This setting of limits and guidelines, in many instances meant for the best, but done so often times out of fear.  Could be fear of disappointment, either of one’s self or a loved one, of hurt or even simply the fear in others realizing and unlocking a potential we do not see in ourselves.  To excel, to pursue a dream is perhaps one of the most noble of endeavors to my way of thinking.  It is nothing short of miraculous to behold stubborn optimism in someone who is quite obviously doing so despite doubts or worries that are so much easier to cater to.  There is safety in never trying.  Not happiness, but safety.  But this kind of safety is purchased at the price of hope.

That price is too high.

Risks always should be measured, but if the choice is cowardice or failure then failure gets it hands down.  Failure means I fought myself and my demons and tried.  Cowardice means I let the demons of self-doubt and inferiority reign.  Who would you rather have as a ruler:  0ne that relegated you to misery or one who pushed you to constantly do better?

It’s in that vein I continue writing what I am, I suppose.  While some days I think there is little hope in me that it will be published I still push on and work on it.  You see, the work is my ideology put into story format and it’s something I believe passionately in.  There is no small fear in me when I write this, no little voice inside my head that is easily quelled when it tells me it’s a fool’s errand.  Righteousness is something I have a very hard time latching on to while the belief in my inferior intellect and sometimes iffy prose very easily are taken as truth.  When those moments come about I recall why I started this project.  Hope.  There is no greater message I wish to convey to humanity than that little word and this story is my most ardent optimism.  It’s the workings of my heart, of those wants and desires I addressed at the beginning of this post, and of my very rational and philosophical mind.  All this translates to me as a person who, truth be told, does not exist separately from the writer.

Sometimes it helps to recall how hope can feel when one can not summon it for themselves.  Here are a few things that aid and abet an optimism I ALWAYS have to fight for.

Lord of the Rings – The lighting of the beacons: 

And for publishing hope I offer you the inscription written by Ayn Rand for Atlas Shrugged:

…I trust that no one will tell me that men such as I write about don’t exist.  That this book has been written – and published- is my proof that they do.

What aids and abets your optimism?  Where do you find you need it most?

11 responses to “Hope

  • Teresa

    Hope is my favorite word. It relates to so many aspects in my life: Optimism, faith, love, dreams. Great post Kimberly.

  • Carol Kilgore

    I know people that don’t strive for anything out of fear of failure. I don’t understand that philosophy. They should never try writing. Not that they would.

  • Hart

    Do you know what they call people who have absolutely clear and realistic expectations and stick to those in a clinical setting? Depressed. I swear. There have been experiments on it. People who are clinically depressed have realistic expectations. The rest of us are optimists and totally unrealistic in our judgment. So you’re right–the price is too high. And the funny thing is, we don’t HAVE to succeed every time… One in a hundred is a VERY long shot, but if we try 100 times, we’ve got a pretty darned good chance, eh? (that is one of my favorite LotR moments, too–the triumph of the smallest for all)

    • kimberlyloomis

      Hart – I totally believe it! Most people I meet seem to have some level of depression that is readily apparent even without talking about goals, etc. Perhaps it’s the need to seek out the quickly attained satisfaction that aids in stymieing the idea of a long term goal/s. That darned Id can get in the way of an awful lot for some without realizing there are things completely worth working toward even if it takes a while to yield results. You know, I hadn’t even thought of that before your comment and I feel the need to offer you payment for that bit of therapy.

      And yes, I adore that scene as well. 🙂 The entire story of Tolkein’s, and of course Jackson’s version of it, is nothing but an optimistic message about what’s worth the fight and investment of the self. 🙂

  • Helen Ginger

    When characters won’t let me forget them, I keep going. Not writing or plotting or thinking about these characters is what is depressing.

  • laurelrainsnow

    Some people scoff at those of us who move forward toward our dreams, even when we encounter obstacles along the way…they might even call us “eternal optimists,” and this is said with a disparaging tone.

    But I remind myself that it is better to chase our dreams than to slink off and give in to failure and disappointment. My only regret in life would be not trying to achieve those dreams.

  • J.L. Campbell

    Every time someone reads something of mine, it gives me hope that I’m doing a decent job that will one day end up published.

    The very fact that we rise each day to start doing all that we do is hope enough for me, hope that I’ll do better than I did yesterday and that I will impact someone’s life for good.

  • Lua

    Hope is a difficult thing to hold on to and I’ll admit, some days are better than the others and some days I just feel like I’ll never get published and I lose all hope. But something you said explains so well why we keep on writing;
    “You see, the work is my ideology put into story format and it’s something I believe passionately in.”
    It’s our passion, it’s our ideology, it’s who we are. Don’t lose hope Kimberly, if we hold on to that passion I know we can make it 🙂

Leave a Reply

