Monday Meme: What are you reading?

Been a while since I did this particular meme and, as I’m tackling a couple books right now I thought I’d share!  If you want to participate in this fun little meme just head on over to Bookjourney’s page and sign up!

 

First, as part of a challenge I’m now thinking of as absurd a friend and I are now reading Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence. 

 

 

The book, should you not know about it, is ultimately a treatise for people to look beyond the societal appropriate in the confines of their relationships.  That is to say that sex is a mere act one simply has upon occasion, but that it ultimately does not matter.  I’m about halfway through this gem and am intrigued by the very subtle commentary Lawrence seems to be making.  Very glad to be reading this at long last.  [Oh, and there’s sex abound in this book, but I daresay it’s more evocative and far less vulgar than the romances of present day.]  As a matter of some interest (don’t ask me who’s interest):  I had no idea there was a movie made of this work.  All this time, luddite that I am, I had no idea so many classics were made into film.

 

 

And because I succumbed to the hype I managed to take Jonathan Franzen’s masterpiece newest book from the library:  Freedom.

 

I have yet to ascertain what “freedom” has to do with this work, but I can say it’s a character driven work focusing upon a stay at home mother, Patty Beglund; a lawyer with a love of nature, Walter Beglund (also Patty’s husband); and the former room mate of Walter, also crush of Patty’s, a musician named Richard Katz.  The work thus far seems to be about the entirety of these people’s lives giving us a “then and now” perspective while using certain political ideologies as buzzwords either in chapter titles or superficial rhetoric the reminds me of what Niffenegger did in Time Traveler’s Wife. It’s really hard for me to keep positive about this work.  While I am not finished with it I can honestly say it feels trite and a way of making everything in life feel so.  The rest I’ll keep for my review, but at about 150 pages in this book makes me tremendously sad in that Franzen is being proclaimed by the media as a “literary genius of this generation”.  Very sad indeed.

That’s all for now!  Have a few fun posts scheduled for the next couple of weeks (well, I will once I write them) out of the need of taking a break from the more cerebrally intensive stuff I’ve been drawn to of late.

Now, of course, I really want to know:  What are YOU reading?

9 responses to “Monday Meme: What are you reading?

  • Jillian

    Lady Chatterley’s Lover is beautifully written, I think. I love the contrasts.

  • laurelrainsnow

    I saw the movie (and read the book) way back in the day (Lady Chatterley)…I’m pretty sure it’s not as risque as we thought at the time.

    Freedom is on my stacks and I’m waiting for a week when I have some light reads to go with it…

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

  • Arlee Bird

    Currently reading Flannery: A Life of Flannery O’Connor by Brad Gooch. It’s a biography of one of my favorite authors.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  • Joanne

    I’m sorry to say I’m not reading any books at the moment! Between writing and a kitchen remodel, I haven’t had a few minutes to settle in with a good read. Soon, though. I’m getting antsy to pick up a book 🙂

  • Helen Ginger

    I’m inbetween books right now. I’ll start something new tomorrow. I need to find one that will captivate me quickly since I’ll only get to read in snippets until I get some work done.

  • carolkilgore

    Nothing deep, I can assure. I read purely for escape and entertainment. If I learn anything along the way it’s by accident 🙂

    Right now I’m reading a David Baldacci that sat on my shelf for far too long. It’s a thriller, and I love most of Baldacci’s work, but it sure had a slow opening. Lots of action but no feeling. It started picking up about page 100.

  • Barb

    “Star Ancestors” by Nancy Red Star – OK, it’s non-fiction, but I’m reading it because 1) I’m curious about other cultures and about UFOs and stuff like this and 2) because I might find ideas for my sci-fi novels that need a good rewrite. Although it triggered another “research fever” on the internet… that I don’t know when I’ll actually do! 😉

  • lola sharp

    I own both these books…and while I loved Lady Chatterley’s Lover (and all Lawrence’s works) I too felt meh about Franzen’s Freedom.
    I like high brow literary fiction very much, and the NYT’s practically got on their knees and serviced Franzen (sorry, was that too crass?), while the media ‘in the know of all that is intellectual and wise’ indeed touted this book and his writing as the most brilliant writing of our generation. Still, I kept my expectations low yet hopeful and bought it on release day.
    I read it all the way through. Wanting to take a red ink pen to it. First of all, his writing style/voice is nothing special, IMO. The idea of the story and the MC’s lives held some potential and interest for me, but the bloated writing at times (and average at times) did little for me. I don’t get the hype. There was nothing spectacular (not even on a subtle level) about this book, IMHO. (except for how much praise it garnered)

  • litlove

    I remember being really taken with Lady Chatterley’s Lover when I read it (oh years and years ago now). It makes me wonder why I’ve never read another of his books – I should rectify that. I did read Freedom and certainly didn’t think it was the best American novel of the year, or anything like it. It was interesting in places, and probably most interesting for trying to figure out what the critics think they are looking for. I mean, why the hype? Why the fuss? You catch me between books, in fact, and trying to decide what to read next. Wolf Hall is a possibility… we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

