Gotta Catch the Turkey!

Okay, so I don’t.  And, yes, I’m perfectly aware Thanksgiving (*cough* Turkey Genocide Day *cough*) is next week, but who on Earth isn’t stressed the week before they might be cooking for 9-12 people?  The only thing I can really say about this is the menu is now set and the cooking extravaganza is going to begin any day now.  In the mean time I’m actively trying to not think about the dreaded materialistic holiday that is fast encroaching.

Why?

First: I WANT to give all sorts of stuff, but I do not have unlimited (or even very copious) resources at my disposal for doing such.

Second: I bake gifts for adults/families.  That’s right, I generally make about 10 different kinds of cookies and a few different types of breads for gifting.  Hubby makes wine so we add that to the baskets.    Anyone ever try and roll out dough with a two year old helping?

Third:  Okay, this kind of is a part b to the second, but whatever…  I haven’t even figured out the theme of the baking this year.  Last year (or was that the year before) did cookies from around the world.

Fourth:  I had ambitious goals to have the rough draft of my wip done by the end of the year and there’s no way that’s going to happen.  Every word is counting, the novel is somewhat sparse, and it’s solidly in that literary camp (but not in the way people claim Franzen is literary).

Fifth:  The Christmas stocking I meant to have embroidered for my son’s first Christmas?  It’s still unfinished, too.  I need to get on that, but I’m pretty sure needlework hates me.

So, as the end of the year creeps up – how has your year fared?  All ready for whatever holiday you celebrate?

8 responses to “Gotta Catch the Turkey!

  • Tweets that mention Gotta Catch the Turkey! « The Perpetual Writer -- Topsy.com

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kimberly Loomis, Kimberly Loomis. Kimberly Loomis said: Gotta Catch the Turkey!: http://wp.me/pD1QK-s7 […]

  • litlove

    My heart goes out to you – I loathe Christmas because it’s all about Getting! Things! Done! in a similarly frantic, hopeless sort of way, and the achievement pile always looks so tiny compared to the planned achievements. At least one consolation – 2 year old who can’t roll dough (I remember those days!) is really not going to care about the embroidery on his Christmas stocking. And cookies are great and don’t necessarily need a theme. And finally, the things we need to be most grateful for have no monetary value, for instance: other people’s understanding for where we are and what we can and can’t do, unconditional love, a helping hand when we need it, emotional generosity. I tell you this now so you can remind me when Christmas rolls round in a bit. 🙂

  • laurelrainsnow

    I am probably the laziest holiday person ever! But to my credit, I have done all that in the past…the distant past by now.

    My nod to the holidays these days is being a guest at grown children’s houses (I sold my big house three years ago!), and I bring things like wine or pie.

    My decorations are artificial miniature trees to which I add my quirky objects. Plus lots of other decorations that are stored and brought out each year. It takes all of half an hour.

    Gift cards for the grandkids. They’re the only ones who get anything. Like I said…lazy. But also stress-free.

    Unless, of course, I worry about what others think of my Scrooge attitude! (Not so much).

  • Hart

    Theme? You bake ten batches of cookies to a THEME?! Holy crap! Color me impressed! I generally make two batches of cookies (sugar cookies and Kifflings) and one batch of candy (toffee) that always fails so I have to eat the evidence.

    My only real impressive holiday feat (ever) was the year I was on maternity leave after my son was born (12 years ago–his birthday is tomorrow) I made our whole family stockings (velvet with satin linings) and they are pretty nice. I can’t sew clothes, but my craft skills aren’t awful. No embroidry though–I used rhinestones to do each of our first initials.

    THIS YEAR? We are pretty broke, so hubby and I have agreed to no gifts. in-laws get kid photos (in frames for the grandparents)–so the kids are really my only shopping concern… (I sounds like Scrooge, but in actuality, the lower stress of this is preferable to me)

  • Carol Kilgore

    So far from done it’s scary. Thanksgiving has gone from two to four with a possibility of six or even ten. And it’s only a week away. I have the turkey, nothing else. I do have all my shopping done for Christmas, however, with the exception of gifts for two people. And this year instead of baking for the neighbors, I’m giving Cookies in a Jar. Oh yeah. But I don’t have the jars yet. Sigh.

  • DarcKnyt

    I gotta tell ya, baking gifts and getting bread and homemade wine sounds awesome to me. What a great thing. 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving! Can you give me some idea what “literary” writing is? I’m so confused. 😦

    😉

    • kimberlyloomis

      Haha! Thanks!

      In this case it doesn’t have pop culture references and moves primarily through narrative while communicating an idea and a world through show, not tell. Franzen is considered literary, but to me he’s nothing more than a long winded pop fiction author who stands against philosophical ideals he knows nothing about. My loathing would be less (probably) if the NYT weren’t declaring he was to the literary world what air is to humans.

  • Glynis Jolly

    Wow Kim, you do a lot more than I do and my kids are grown and out of the house. I’ll be cheering you on.

Leave a Reply

