Plodding Along

As the year comes to a close, thankfully, I begin my year end “oh, crap I need to make progress on that wip!” sprint.  Admittedly, the rough draft won’t even be done by then, but that matters little to me at this point.  There has been almost no motion in my writing over the last several months, excepting some half-hearted attempts at editing, and it’s time for that stagnation to stop.  It’s quite literally as though a fog has lifted.  Finally.  Between the hormones, trauma, and loss over the last few months my mind now feels clear and capable.  Getting back together with the ladies in my very informal writing group has also helped immeasurably.

To this end I am also looking forward to getting back to reading while juggling my Christmas baking AND crafting.  [Nothing lends its self to crafty inspiration quite like an almost four year old always being around and the one car leaving every day with your spouse.]  This all seems like rather uninteresting blather, even to me – but here are the pieces of goodness that have come about as a result of all these things:

1.  My friend passing has recalled to mind how valuable life is.  While it’s incredibly easy to get caught up in the day to day drama and bullshit there is still life.  Nothing else matters.  Not really.  That’s what my wip was always meant to demonstrate – my thoughts/feelings on the value of a life and how its safe keeping can never be handed over to an unknown person.  Trust is personal.  And there is nothing more personal to me than the lives I value.

2.  Electricity is a requirement for living in this world.  It shouldn’t be.  My mind became calmer, I spoke more to my son (who definitely did NOT get more quiet), and the necessities became obvious when there was no electricity.  Warmth, food, water – these are necessary for life.  And here’s where I get political:  So why on EARTH do we wind up subservient to town ordinances while we pay taxes on our property that make it a pain in the ass to have a fireplace?  This kind of goes back to number one – why trust people you don’t know with something as valuable as your life – or things that drastically impact your ability to maintain your life?  [For those who don’t know and just want to focus on the Big Bad Utility Company angle of the media – it took CT’s governor FIVE DAYS to call out the National Guard to start cleaning up the Nor’easter mess.  Utilities would have been easier to restore if the freaking trees were dealt with from the get go and with the aid of the guys who had the equipment all us taxpayers have already bought.]  Believe you, me – all that is relevant to the wip.  I also really like pen and paper.  A lot.  My next house will have a gas stove and a fireplace.

3.  Sometimes survival depends upon a community.  Form one.  Be a positive part of it.  Life can be difficult and lonely, sometimes impossible, if not for the aid of those around us.  It’s not about reaching out and taking, but about reaching out and giving.  Sometimes having a little less because you shared means you wind up with more.

4.  Time is precious and totally worth being spent on good food, good friends, good books, and the quiet moments it takes to figure out exactly what qualifies as “good”.

Have you ever been unwillingly without power for a substantial amount of time?  How’s your writing going?  Heck, what kind of books are you reading?

It’s been so long and I really want to get reacquainted with all of you.  Please share.

6 responses to “Plodding Along

  • jessicabookworm

    I’m so glad to hear you’re starting to get your head back in the writing game 🙂

    I’m lucky that I haven’t really suffered from power cuts, in the house I’ve lived in for the past 10 years, we’ve only had one power cut but that affected my whole town! My boyfriend’s street is plagued with them though, five already this year, very frustrating.

    As usual I’ve been reading anything and everything. Took part in a mental illness advocacy reading challenge which really broadened my knowledge and horizons as well.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Thanks so much, Jessica! I can’t wait to get back to reading your blog and seeing what you’ve been up to/reading.

      Black outs are no fun. Ugh. Historically we haven’t had too many where I live, certainly not the kind that resulted in a little less than one million people in my state alone without power, but this year has been…interesting.

  • Anne

    Sometimes I think it’s a blessing in disguise to have bad and inconvenient things happen to remind us of what’s really important in life. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in everyday little things that don’t really matter and to lose perspective.

    I’ve been reading lots of fantasy – the Name of the Wind, and the Sword of Truth series.

  • Jan loomis

    Way to to Kim.I’m rooting for you and
    your view of life as it could be.

    Q

  • Arlee Bird

    It would be pretty bad to be without power for any extended period of time but it does provide different perspective not to be dependent on everything that takes electricity for a while.
    Back in the late 80s when I was living in Charlotte, NC, hurricane Hugo knocked out the power for nearly a week. There wasn’t internet that we relied on then and TV was no huge deal other than not being able to see the news.
    The neat thing was that all the neighbors dragged out their charcoal grills and we had a potluck block party for a couple days as we started cooking everything in our refrigerators so it wouldn’t go bad. My contribution of frozen dinners was weird to cook in that manner. We met new people and had a grand time. It’s good that it wasn’t cold weather–that would be a bad time to lose power.

    I’ve been putting aside all my writing except for blog writing. That is going to have to change.

    Lee
    Wrote By Rote

Leave a Reply

