And so it comes to this…

In the past I’ve done only a few philosophical posts betwixt the literary or writerly *cough* posts, but now I am finding myself longing for conversation of just about anything.  There are many excellent blogs out there that dedicate themselves to the discussion of industry and writing technique/ideas  – this isn’t one of them.  Truly, I like READING those blogs, but I don’t enjoy writing them.  It feels quite like pulling teeth.  Since I prefer to keep all my teeth where they are (or perhaps a slightly new location should I endeavor to get braces again in the future) I decided I should step away from even the pressure of doing so.  As a result it seems more prudent to me that I simply WRITE and the best way for me to do this is to write about anything/everything that I am interested in.

It’s just like Heinlein said:

A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects.

For those who have checked out my other blog (also long neglected) I will still be keeping women’s health/birth stuff over there as well as some other interesting (hopefully) tidbits about the medical industry and legislation that impacts this.  This one is now going to be home to all the meanderings and topics that intrigue me and, perhaps, will be slightly controversial.  With any luck all of you, yes – YOU, will want to come by and share your views still.  At least I hope you do.  Here’s to what looks to be a very interesting adventure.  Cheers, folks!

3 responses to “And so it comes to this…

  • Hart

    Yeah, I came to the same conclusion long ago. I mean… if I hear something, I’m happy to pass it on, but going out to look for useful industry stuff or technical writing lessons IS a lot of work. my theory is a person should either be helpful or entertaining, so more often I attempt the latter.

    You will do just fine with it.

  • resourcetherapy

    Yeah You! and then there is the phrase “to thy own self be true” that refers to the need to care for you 1st (well at least a half step ahead of your young uns.

  • Glynis J. Jolly

    Like you, having the list of topics to blog about being too narrow isn’t what I want nor am I very sure that I could even do it. I’d get bored with my own writing that way. However, I have limited what I write about at my blog to a small extent (I have 7 categories) in hopes of getting some loyal followers.

Leave a Reply

