This is me – picking myself up by my bootstraps.

Whenever I get in my car of late my CD player goes on the fritz and I wind up being forced to listen to the radio (not XM – but good ole fashioned free radio).  Some days I hit it lucky and get some of my favorite songs, like Rush’s “Free Will” or “Spirit of the Radio”, possibly even hearing anything by Tool – one of my favorite groups, but mostly I’ve been hitting songs I generally don’t care for in styles I heretofor had said rather unkind things about.  Where I have gotten lucky is hearing the song “The Climb” and, not so fortunately, this has happened A LOT.

This definitely goes under the category of songs I don’t usually hunt down and styles I abhor don’t care for, but the lyrics have moved me and inspired me over this last week.  I don’t know exactly what it is, perhaps it’s just an overwhelming amount of stress piled on top of some vaguely interpreted disappointments others have in regards to me, but I needed a pick me up – a staunch reminder of why I’m taking the path I am with both career and family.  Quite unusual of me:  I offer to you the below videos/songs and a quote that have very much aided in my own reaffirmation this week.  I hope you find something good in them as well.

And, perhaps strangely, I find great comfort in this quote by Nietzsche:

The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.

What do you do as a pick me up?  Do you listen to your favorite songs cranked up high?  Do you dance around the living room?  Sing at the top of your lungs?


16 responses to “This is me – picking myself up by my bootstraps.

  • Jan

    All of the above, but most importantly, never stop believing in your dream! You are worth it!

  • Patience

    Thank you for that this morning! I tend to change the station or just shut the radio off when Miley comes on, so I am glad you pointed this song out.

    Music is my pick me up too, and, much to my kids dismay, I will sing it at the top of my lungs! (did you know: recent studies have proven singing boost your immune system?)

    My go-to pick-me-up playlist:
    “Rise Today” Alter Bridge, “Stood Up” A Fine Frenzy, “If Today Was Your Last Day” Nickelback, “Rise Above This” Seether, “18 Wheeler” Pink, “Drive” Incubus, “Waiting” Green Day…and…”I am Woman” Helen Reddy (can’t help it…it makes me feel empowered!)

    and I just added “The Climb” 🙂

    Stay true to yourself! And now that you got “Miley’s message” your cd player may start working again….the universe is funny like that sometimes…

    • kimberlyloomis

      Patience – I had NO idea it was a Miley Cyrus tune until I looked up the song for my post! I love some of the tunes you mentioned in your list too. Will definitely have to check some of the others out. 🙂

      Alas, my CD player seems to be on a sporadic vacation. Fine for a few songs then it’s tired of working and spits out the CD. *sigh*

  • Merrilee

    Excellent quote. While the tribe is important, so too is your own identity. *hugs* Affirm on, baby!

  • Chris

    Funny you mentioned Tool. This morning I threw in an old cassette tape (yes, I still own 1 cassette tape) of Green Jelly. Ironically, both Tool’s drummer, and Maynard himself performed with them before forming Tool.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Chris – Omg! Green Jelly?! That cracks me up. I *cough* have a few cassette tapes as well. Somewhere (right in front of my book case that houses Atlas Shrugged)… I daresay I like Tool better. 🙂

  • Laura Marcella

    ‘What Are You Waiting For?’ by Gwen Stefani and ‘Fingerprints’ by Katy Perry are great motivators!

    My favorite songs ever are ‘Like A Prayer’ by Madonna and ‘Pure Shores’ by All Saints. And yes, I always dance around and sing at the top of my lungs!!!

    • kimberlyloomis

      I’ll have to check those two songs out, Laura! I ADORE “Like a Prayer”! That’s right up on my list of faves with “Gotta Fight for your Right (to party)” by the Beastie Boys. The radio stays tuned in whenever I hear either.

  • Glynis

    Despite the fact that I use to play the flute, the guitar, and the piano, I rarely have a preference in listening to music anymore. Quotes is a whole other story though. I agree with you on your choice for this post. I had never read or heard it before, but I like it so much that I have copied it and have bookmarked the website.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Glynis – Nietzsche does have some great quotes and ideas, in my opinion. Strangely optimistic and affirming considering the categorization of being a nihilist. Glad you liked it! And, wow, I can only boast to singing and playing the piano – good for you in having endeavored to learn so many varied instruments!

  • Elliot Grace

    …great post:) One of my all-time favorites is from the late Jimmy Valvano, who, while struggling with cancer at the time, stood at the podium on ESPN’s ESPY Awards and said…”Don’t give up, don’t ever give up.”
    inspiration personified…

  • Jes Mauldin

    Miley’s song the Climb is pretty inspiring. I used to turn off all Miley music..but one day it got stuck in my head..and I had to listen to it too. My husband won’t easily admit it, however he works out to a track from Hannah Montanna.

    I have to say anything peppy snappy or upbeat tends to right me in a better mood. My weapon of choice is Lady Gaga or Kesha.

    If I’m in a super foul mood- old school Marilyn Manson, Tool- Sober or Prison Sex will snap me out of it too.

    • kimberlyloomis

      Jes – May I tease Dave next time I see him? Please? 😉 It really is a good song. I was totally in awe (read: horrified) to find out I had been getting my groove and inspiration on to a Miley Cyrus tune. Sometimes I feel blessed to have missed the wagon holding Lady Gaga on it, but I’m kinda thinking it might be time to check her out and see what the fuss is about.

      Tool’s album “Opiate” is my ultimate in anger music. LOVE that album when I’m good and volatile. Sober and Prison Sex are two of my favorite songs as well – although I absolutely adore “The Pot”.

Leave a comment